Saturday, March 14, 2009

Streamy Awards Official Nominees Are Announced

The 1st annual Streamy Awards, honoring the best in web television from 2008, has announced their official nominees. The live Awards Ceremony will be live broadcast online on March 28, 2009 at 7:30 PM at The newly formed 90-member International Academy of Web Television completed the first round of selections of nominees in 24 categories. Competing for awards in Overall Series, Directing, Writing, Acting, Craft Awards include actresses Lisa Kudrow, Felicia Day, Rosario Dawson, Jessica Rose, Eva Longoria Parker. Also notable are Joss Whedon’s hit web series Dr. Horrible’s Sing-Along Blog which scored nine nominations and Felicia Day’s gamer hit The Guild which scored eleven nominations. Among the list for "Best Web Series Host" are Xeni Jardin of Boing Boing TV, Kevin Rose of Diggnation, Zadi Diaz of EPIC FU, Alex Albrecht of Project Lore and Gary Vaynerchuck of Wine Library TV.

Jamison Tilsner of says, "Over 100,000 public submissions were received. Ten of the submitted series will go head-to-head starting next week to compete for the coveted Audience Choice Award. We’ve been honored to watch this medium develop and are truly proud of the outstanding shows nominated for Streamy Awards. They showcase the quality of production across the rapidly growing industry."

View the complete list of nominees here.

Marc Hustvedt of Tubefilter noted, "The gentle revolution that began as a trickle has becoming a roaring stream. Suddenly there’s a whole new playing field, one that puts big studio series competing against small indie productions for the scarcest of all resources in entertainment: the public’s attention."

The Streamy Awards are operated by Tubefilter, Inc. and TilzyTV Inc. in partnership with the International Academy of Web Television, and co-hosted by NewTeeVee, Tilzy.TV and Tubefilter.