Monday, January 11, 2010

2010 Streamy Awards Voting Deadline Draws Near, Public Submissions Close January, 15th (UPDATE - Deadline Extended to January 18th)

The second annual Streamy Awards season is in full gear and kicked off last month with the launch of new website, never-before-seen footage from the 2009 event and the call for entries for the 2010 awards. Now with only days left for the Streamy Awards Submission deadline you still have time to vote for your favorite web series. Votes can be cast until this Friday, January 15 using the Public Submissions Form. Content creators and individuals directly associated with online episodic programs have until Friday, January 22 to submit via the Certified Submissions Form.

UPDATE 1/16/10: The deadline for Public Submissions has just been extended to 11:59PM PST on Monday, January 18. Certified Submissions will still close after 11:59PM PST on Friday, January 22, 2010.

Last year’s Streamy Awards received over 100,000 unique public submissions from over 89 countries and hundreds of thousands of votes for 10 Audience Choice Award Finalists. Big winners were Dr. Horrible’s Sing-Along Blog and The Guild, and both Joss Whedon and Felicia Day, who provided heartfelt acceptance speeches that both inspired the audience and legitimized the art and craft of the independent web series producer.

Day called herself, "a square peg and I’ve been trying to fit into a round Hollywood hole for a very long time." She thanked all the Hollywood establishment for beating her down and forcing her to pick up a pen and write her own web series. Whedon referred to himself as “the establishment guy" noting that while the television industry is in a funky state, web television is on the rise and web series producers are the pioneers, "of what’s going to be not just the new media, but the media."

See more videos from the 1st Annual Streamy Awards here.

Nominees and winners will be honored at the second-annual awards program to be held on Sunday, April 11, 2010 in Los Angeles. Submissions will be accepted via the Streamys web site at beginning today through January 22, 2010. This year's Streamy Awards features 12 new categories.
"to include different types of online series, recognize more talent and technical areas of excellence, and highlight viewer experiences unique to the medium."
The new categories include awards for Live Production, Foreign Series, Vlogging, Interactive Experience, Branded Entertainment, and Mobile Experience. After the close of public voting and content creator submissions, nominees across the 36 categories will be honored by the International Academy of Web Television (IAWTV), a member-run non-profit organization comprised of leaders and stakeholders within the growing web television industry, and the official presenting body behind the Streamy Awards. The Streamy Awards are co-hosted by Tubefilter and NewTeeVee.

With the growth of the independent producer community and new channels of distribution in the last few years, the groundbreaking success of the 1st Annual Streamy Awards shined a light on the community of web television innovators in this emerging entertainment art form. Web television is finally recognized as a legitimate entertainment platform.
"The 2010 Streamys is about advancing open entertainment and its benefits to both consumers and creators by showcasing the staggering creative expression online. Our goal is to propel the new entertainment ecosystem by empowering a growing group of creators while helping everyone else find content that they love."
Follow The Streamy Awards (streamyawards) on Twitter
Become a fan of the Streamy Awards page here: